The "Rock House" was originally part of Joesville named after a man whose name isn't Joe.
The "Rock Hous” as it stands today is made up partly of the old building called "Old Mexico" which goes back to about 1870 when banditry and red light districts flourished in the rugged west. This particular building and area being one of the most prominent, was finally closed by the Federal Government in 1912. It has been said that Joaquin Murrieta used this place as one of his headquarters of operations.
The building was bought by Mr. Joe Caratti in 1917 and operated as the "Highway Inn", on Highway 50, until the name was changed to "Joesville" in 1929. The rock and brick masonry, including the unusual fireplace in the dining room and back bar, took nine years to complete. The rock and brick collection are rocks that were collected from all over the U.S. and some from foreign countries.
There is a troy of a treasure being buried under the building by the Mexican Government and also by bandits, which accounts for the tunnels under the building at the present time.
The "Rock House" was operated by the Caratti family as a Tavern and Western Dance Hall, and during the war years was very popular with service personnel from all over the world.
In 1961, the business was purchased by Darrell Smith, who closed the place for remodeling and redecorating. It was reopened July 1, 1961 as Livermore's newest dinner house. Today the reputation of good food and good drinks, together with the surroundings of the famous rock collection and masonry, make it one of the most unique dinner houses in Alameda County.
(The above excerpt was taken from the original "Rock House" menu)